Last updated: 8 October 2026 · By Yashna Bhuwania (ARN-325085)
Disclosure: Dhan Saarthi is our product. We score it on the same criteria as everyone else, list its limitation, and review it last. Competitor facts come from each vendor's own website and app-store listing as of 7 October 2026.
Quick answer: The best software depends on how you work. Back-office tools (IFANOW, Investwell, REDVision Wealth Elite) suit IFAs who already have their own AMC empanelments and want reports, CRM and transactions in one place, for a subscription. Distribution platforms (AssetPlus, Wealthy, ZFunds, NJ Partner Desk, Dhan Saarthi) also handle client onboarding, transactions and commission collection, and are paid from a share of your trail. A new MFD gets more from a platform. An IFA with a large book and their own empanelments keeps 100% of trail with a back-office tool, so the subscription pays for itself.
What are the two types of MFD software?
MFD software splits into back-office tools you pay for and distribution platforms that take a share of your commission.
| Back-office / CRM software | Distribution platform | |
|---|---|---|
| Examples | IFANOW, Investwell, REDVision Wealth Elite | AssetPlus, Wealthy, ZFunds, NJ Partner Desk, Dhan Saarthi |
| Whose ARN the business sits under | Yours | Usually the platform's master ARN, with yours mapped as sub-broker |
| AMC empanelment | You empanel with each AMC yourself | The platform's empanelment covers you |
| Commission | AMCs pay you 100% of trail directly | AMCs pay the platform; it passes you a share |
| How you pay | Annual subscription (Investwell starts at ₹25,000 a year) | Share of trail; usually no subscription |
| Best for | IFAs with an existing book and empanelments | New MFDs, or anyone who wants operations handled |
The line is blurring: IFANOW, Investwell and Wealth Elite now run transactions on the exchanges too. The real difference is whose ARN the clients sit under and who collects the commission.
What features should MFD software have?
Judge any MFD software on these eight things, in this order:
- Transaction rails. Which exchanges does it place orders on: BSE StAR MF, NSE NMF II, MF Utility (MFU)? More rails mean fewer failed orders and more schemes.
- Client onboarding. Paperless KYC, FATCA and SIP mandate setup from the phone. This is where most new clients drop off.
- Client app. Does the client get an app to see their portfolio and invest? Is it branded with your name (white-label)?
- Data import and reports. Can it pull in a client's existing holdings from a CAS or RTA feed? Does it produce capital-gains and portfolio reports?
- Commission tracking. Can you see trail by client, scheme and AMC, and spot brokerage that is due but unpaid?
- Goal planning. Goal mapping, risk profiling and calculators for review meetings.
- Pricing model. A flat subscription, an AUM-linked fee, or a share of your trail. Work out the cost at your AUM in three years, not today.
- Exit terms. If you leave, how do your clients move to your own ARN, and how long does it take? Ask before you join.
How do the 8 MFD platforms compare?
None of the four large platforms publishes the trail share it pays partners: commission is tiered and differs by partner, based on AUM. Everything below is as each vendor states it on its own site, as of 7 October 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it there, not that the feature is missing.
| Platform | Type | Rails named on site | Client app | Cost / trail share | Scale (vendor's own claim) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IFANOW | Back office + transactions | BSE StAR MF, NSE NMF | White-label web and mobile | Not published | Not stated |
| Investwell Mint | Back office + transactions | BSE, NSE, MFU | White-label Android and iOS | From ₹25,000/yr up to ₹25 Cr AUM; rises with AUM | 5,000+ MFDs |
| REDVision Wealth Elite | Back office + transactions | BSE StAR MF, NSE NMF II, MFU | White-label (URL, colours, logo) | Core not published; add-ons priced separately | 5,500+ MFDs |
| AssetPlus | Platform | Not stated | White-label (your logo and banner) | Tiered by AUM; not published | 22,000+ MFDs |
| Wealthy | Platform | Not stated | Client app mapped to you | Tiered by AUM; not published | 14,000+ partners, ₹8,000 Cr+ AUM |
| ZFunds | Platform | BSE StAR MF | Client app | Tiered by AUM; not published | 14,000+ distributors |
| NJ Partner Desk | Platform | Not stated on partner page | NJ E-Wealth app (NJ-branded) | ₹7,000 joining pack; trail tiered, shown only inside Partner Desk | 56,911 active distributors, ₹3,19,829 Cr AUM (31 Aug 2026) |
| Dhan Saarthi (ours) | Platform | BSE StAR MF 2.0 | Client app with your name on its home screen | No upfront, seat or module fee; you keep 90% of trail | 80+ partners, ₹10 Cr+ AUM |
Which MFD software is best? Platform-by-platform reviews
1. IFANOW
- Suits: an IFA who also does financial planning and wants one branded system for planning, transactions and compliance.
- Standout: a financial-planning kit (budgeting, cash flow, goal tracker, 25+ asset classes) next to transactions on BSE StAR MF and NSE NMF. Also has roles and hierarchy, sub-broker management, KYC and GST invoicing.
- Limitation: it is software, not a business partner. There is no training on building your AUM book, no MFD community and no local events. Which funds to sell and how to grow is yours to figure out.
- Pricing: not published. Sign-up asks for an ARN or RIA registration.
2. Investwell Mint
- Suits: a growing IFA or multi-RM firm that wants every feature without per-seat fees.
- Standout: all three rails (BSE, NSE, MFU), white-label Android and iOS apps, brokerage reconciliation (receivable vs received), sub-broker payouts and unlimited RMs. Founded in 2000.
- Limitation: software only. No training on building your AUM book, no MFD community, no local events. The fee also rises with your AUM, so your software cost grows as you succeed.
- Pricing: from ₹25,000 a year for AUM up to ₹25 crore. One plan, every feature.
3. REDVision Wealth Elite
- Suits: an IFA selling several asset classes who wants deep reports and a well-known investor app.
- Standout: BSE, NSE and MFU; 40+ report types including capital gains and XIRR; 20+ asset classes; video KYC. The investor app has 500K+ Play Store downloads.
- Limitation: software only. No training on building your AUM book, no MFD community, no local events. Onboarding and CRM are paid add-ons.
- Pricing: core on request. Add-ons: Business Booster from ₹10,000 + GST; Sales Ninja CRM ₹9,500 per user a year plus ₹20,000 one-time.
4. AssetPlus
- Suits: a new MFD who wants a white-label platform and help getting started.
- Standout: client onboarding "in 180 seconds", a white-label client app, CAS import via MF Central or CAMS CAS, FDs, PMS, NPS, insurance and loans against MF. Free NISM help for people without an ARN.
- Limitation: tiered commission. The trail share is not published ("contact us") and differs by partner, based on AUM. Support is spread across thousands of partners, so it is less personalised.
5. Wealthy
- Suits: an MFD who wants to sell many products from one app.
- Standout: the widest product shelf here: MFs, insurance, stocks, PMS, AIF, bonds, FDs and loans against MF. Has a 3-level partner training programme and a dedicated RM.
- Limitation: tiered commission. The trail share is not published and differs by partner, based on AUM. Support is spread across thousands of partners, so it is less personalised.
6. ZFunds
- Suits: a first-time MFD in a smaller town who wants classroom-style training.
- Standout: two online and offline classes a month, a dedicated RM, 1,000+ locations, and loans against MF, bonds and FDs alongside MFs.
- Limitation: tiered commission. The trail share is not published and differs by partner, based on AUM. Support is spread across thousands of distributors, so it is less personalised. Only BSE StAR MF is named as a rail.
7. NJ Partner Desk
- Suits: an MFD who wants the largest, longest-running network and in-person support.
- Standout: the biggest scale here: 56,911 active distributors and ₹3,19,829 crore AUM (31 August 2026). Training covers AMFI exams, orientation and sales.
- Limitation: tiered commission. The trail share is visible only inside Partner Desk and differs by partner, based on AUM. With 57,000+ distributors, support is less personalised.
8. Dhan Saarthi (our product)
- Suits: insurance agents, CAs, stockbrokers and real estate agents who want to add mutual funds for their existing clients.
- Standout: personalised support. We have fewer than 500 partners, so you work directly with our team. You keep 90% of the trail, with no upfront, seat or module fees. Transactions run on BSE StAR MF 2.0, clients get an app with your name on its home screen, and one onboarding replaces separate empanelment with 40+ AMCs.
- Limitation: we currently offer only mutual funds and SIFs online. PMS, AIF and GIFT City products are distributed offline.
Which software should you pick?
Pick by where your business is today and where your clients will sit in five years.
| You are | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A new MFD, under ₹5 Cr AUM | A distribution platform: AssetPlus, Wealthy, ZFunds, NJ or Dhan Saarthi | No subscription while trail is small, and no need to empanel with each AMC yourself. Compare the trail share in writing before joining. |
| A solo IFA at ₹10–50 Cr AUM with own empanelments | Investwell Mint, IFANOW or Wealth Elite | You keep 100% of trail. At ₹25 Cr and 0.8% trail, a ₹25,000 subscription is about 1.25% of income; a 10% platform share would be ₹2 lakh a year and rises with AUM. |
| A multi-RM or sub-broker firm | Investwell Mint or Wealth Elite | Unlimited RMs and sub-brokers, hierarchy reports and sub-broker payouts. |
| An insurance agent, CA, broker or real estate agent adding mutual funds | Dhan Saarthi | Personalised support while you learn the business, and no software cost. |
The maths behind row two: ₹25 crore × 0.8% trail = ₹20 lakh a year. Illustrative; actual trail varies by scheme mix. See how MFD commission works.
How do you switch MFD software without losing clients?
Your clients' AUM does not move when your software does. It stays mapped to the ARN it was bought under. Switching back-office tools is a data job; leaving a platform is an ARN job.
- Export everything first: client list, PANs, folios, SIP and STP registrations, mandates, nominees and KYC status.
- Download a CAS for every client so you can rebuild holdings in the new system and check nothing is missing.
- Save 24 months of brokerage statements to reconcile what you are owed after the switch.
- Leaving a platform? Ask for its transfer-out or ARN-change process in writing. AssetPlus quotes 30–45 working days; NJ requires the ARN change process.
- Run both systems in parallel for one month and compare AUM and SIP counts before you switch off the old one.
- Tell clients before anything changes — a new app login or a new statement format looks like fraud if it arrives unannounced.
Adding mutual funds to your practice?
Keep 90% of the trail, give clients an app with your name on it, and get direct support from our team. Khazana Fintech Pvt. Ltd., AMFI ARN-325085.
Book a Demo with Dhan SaarthiSources
Each vendor's own website and app-store listing, checked 7 October 2026.
Mutual fund investments are subject to market risks, read all scheme related documents carefully. Distribution services are offered through Khazana Fintech Pvt. Ltd. (AMFI ARN – 325085). Vendor features and pricing change often; check the vendor's site before deciding.

